19th Annual Awards Luncheon

On Tuesday, May 14, 2019, more than 600 leaders from the Los Angeles legal, business, and civic communities will gather at the Omni Los Angeles Hotel for Inner City Law Center’s 19th Annual Awards luncheon to support our work advocating on behalf of people experiencing homelessness, our nation’s veterans, and families in need in Southern California. The reception will be hosted from 11:00am to 12:00 and the lunch is from 12:00 – 1:30pm.

I hope you can join us to help ensure that Inner City Law Center has the resources necessary to address our housing and homelessness crisis.

To become a sponsor, please click here to download the Luncheon Sponsorship Form.

We are delighted to honor:

  • Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP with the 2019 Katharine Krause Award for its extensive and successful pro bono work. Skadden has provided pro bono services in multiple slum housing cases in recent years, including a current case in which they represent 55 tenants living in deplorable conditions just a mile from Downtown Los Angeles.
  • Vijay Gupta with the 2019 Humanitarian Award. Mr. Gupta is a violinist and social justice advocate. Mr. Gupta co-founded Street Symphony, providing musical enrichment and connections to people living in Skid Row and other under-resourced communities in Los Angeles.

Humanitarian Award–ICLC’s prestigious Humanitarian Award is presented to an individual or entity who has demonstrated a remarkable commitment to the underprivileged men, women, and children of Los Angeles.

Katharine Krause Award–Katharine Krause, a charismatic and well-respected attorney, was an early leader of the public interest law community and an ICLC Board member. The Katharine Krause Award is presented to an individual or entity that has made notable contributions to our client communities.

Past Award Recipients

2018 The Weingart Foundation and Fred Ali and Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP
2017 Judicate West and Var Fox and Marian Wright Edelman and Peter B. Edelman
2016 Girardi | Keese and Thomas V. Girardi and DecisionQuest and Michael Cobo
2015 Edward P. Roski, Jr. and Dan Grunfeld and Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
2014 Los Angeles City Attorney Michael N. Feuer and Caldwell Leslie & Proctor, PC and Board member Andrew Esbenshade
2013 The Honorable Hilda L. Solis and Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP and Margaret Levy
2012 Dr. Judith Broder of The Soldiers Project and Munger, Tolles and Olson LLP
2011 Justice Carlos R. Moreno and O’Melveny & Myers LLP and Paul Salvaty
2010 Antonia Hernández and California Community Foundation and Southern California Edison
2009 Judge Dorothy Nelson and Los Angeles City Council President Eric Garcetti
2008 Judge Harry Pregerson and Toyota Motor Sales USA, Inc.
2007 Nancy Mintie and The Very Reverend Ernesto Medina
2006 Chief Justice Ronald M. George and Steve Lopez
2005 Bruce Iwasaki and Michael Alvidrez and Skid Row Housing Trust
2004 Rev. Gregory J. Boyle, S.J. and Dorothy Wolpert and Bird, Marella, Boxer & Wolpert
2003 Stephen R. English and James D.C. Barrall and Latham & Watkins
2002 Hon. Antonio Villaraigosa and Professor Gary Blasi
2001 Henry Cisneros and Howrey LLP and Thomas Nolan
2000 White & Case LLP and Daniel James Woods
1999 Rev. Donald P. Merrifield, S.J. and Donald Mullane
1998 Stephen English
1997 Gerald Secundy
1996 Robert Carlson